The National Forum   Donate   Your Account   On Line Opinion   Forum   Blogs   Polling   About   
The Forum - On Line Opinion's article discussion area

Syndicate
RSS/XML

RSS 2.0

Main Articles General

Sign In      Register

The Forum > General Discussion > Emperical God?

Emperical God?

1. Pages:
  2. Page 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4
  6. ...
  7. 14
  8. 15
  9. 16
  10. All
It's funny that whenever I talk with a Christian, they quote the bible to back up their point. Being an atheist this is like quoting Tolkein or Jordan to prove that magic exists. Being a scientist I wonder if anyone out there can give a convincing argument in support of the existence of god. Please no talk about faith (this runs counter to empiricism and truth)and no bible quotes. Remember Occazam's razor "all things being equal, the simplest explanation is usually the correct one."
Posted by thecat, Saturday, 17 May 2008 11:34:34 PM
Find out more about this user Recommend this comment for deletion Return to top of page Return to Forum Main Page Copy comment URL to clipboard
Puss.....E...mpErical?

*goes to Google on line dictionary*

*types in "EMPERICAL"..*

*Google says "nating..nada..nyet... would you like to try "EMPIRICAL"

AAH.. now I think I know what the cat is on about.

Well the first "empirical" result is the knowledge that you (a scientist?) cannot spell :)

Ok..teasing aside.. I sometimes make spelling mitsakes also 0_^.. but in your TITLE? hmmmm

Now.. see where your challenge results when you ban bible quotes and 'faith' ?

But let's try something different, and ask "do YOU have 'faith' in various things?"

Sure u do, you have faith in the engineering principles which undergird the design (and construction) of every lift you go in. You don't 'see' all that went on to make it, but you still trust/have faith in it.