The National Forum   Donate   Your Account   On Line Opinion   Forum   Blogs   Polling   About   
The Forum - On Line Opinion's article discussion area

Syndicate
RSS/XML

RSS 2.0

Main Articles General

Sign In      Register

The Forum > Article Comments > Still not sorry!? > Comments

Still not sorry!? : Comments

By Barbara Hocking, published 22/11/2007

The federal government's recent policies on native title are a return to colonial practices.

1. Pages:
  2. Page 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4
  6. All
“Two hundred years after the "change of sovereignty" of 1788, the "law of the land" in the whole area of reconciliation between the new dominant "settled" society and the old immemorial system of communal land ownership of the indigenous was legally laid down by the High Court in the Mabo case (1992).”

I’m no lawyer, but I have read other “learned” opinion that the Mabo judgement does nothing of the kind, and it has been used wrongly to deal with other cases since. Mabo was for Mabo.

I don’t think that we should necessarily take Ms. Hocking’s word on that one.

The government is probably “still not sorry”, but there is no logical or humane reason why they should be sorry. I wish descendants of the original (as far as we know) inhabitants all the best – certainly no worse conditions than the rest of us have. But, please, they have the same opportunities as everyone else, and only some of them need help with education so that they can lift themselves up. Most have already done it for themselves.

And, it is the few who have necessitated the return to “colonial practices” the author waffles on about. Anyone objecting to what the Government has belatedly done cannot expect to be taken seriously when they claim to have aboriginal welfare at heart.
Posted by Leigh, Thursday, 22 November 2007 9:56:29 AM
Find out more about this user Recommend this comment for deletion Return to top of page Return to Forum Main Page Copy comment URL to clipboard