The National Forum   Donate   Your Account   On Line Opinion   Forum   Blogs   Polling   About   
The Forum - On Line Opinion's article discussion area

Syndicate
RSS/XML

RSS 2.0

Main Articles General

Sign In      Register

The Forum > Article Comments > Listen up, babyboomers - marriage is good > Comments

Listen up, babyboomers - marriage is good : Comments

By Amanda Fairweather, published 29/12/2004

Amanda Fairweather argues that young people do want traditional family life.

1. Pages:
  2. Page 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4
  6. All
Great article, Amanda. As a recent university grad, I find that most people around me are a little more ambivalent when it comes to marriage than the peers you describe, but I suspect that this is more a result of another five years being thrashed around by the world and relationships than it is a sign of a genuine lack of desire for a committed, sincere and intimate relationship.

It is true that people of our generation want careers and children, but I wonder if the desire for these things alone is enough to guarantee we'll actually get them. Women ten or fifteen years older than us are finding it very difficult to do both, and there seems to be a greater acknowledgement that, for now, we DO have to make a choice. To be able to choose both, I'd wager, would require some shift in public policy approach to the matter.
Posted by rachel_h, Wednesday, 29 December 2004 12:48:34 PM
Find out more about this user Visit this user's webpage Recommend this comment for deletion Return to top of page Return to Forum Main Page Copy comment URL to clipboard