The National Forum   Donate   Your Account   On Line Opinion   Forum   Blogs   Polling   About   
The Forum - On Line Opinion's article discussion area

Syndicate
RSS/XML

RSS 2.0

Main Articles General

Sign In      Register

The Forum > General Discussion > Protectionist policies

Protectionist policies

1. Pages:
  2. Page 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4
  6. All
Hi,

I'm new to using forums and aren't really sure what to say. But I do have a question concerning an ecconomics assignment for yr 11. I have found it hard to find information about it and would be very greatful if someone could help me out. Here it is:
"which protectionist policy has had the biggest impact on global and domestic economies, and why?"

Much thanx.
Posted by Denzil, Sunday, 21 October 2007 4:50:20 PM
Find out more about this user Recommend this comment for deletion Return to top of page Return to Forum Main Page Copy comment URL to clipboard
Denzil, I’m sure this not a conventional answer and I don’t know what your teacher might make of it, but here is my opinion:

The most damaging protectionist policy in the world is that which protects continuous human expansionism. Just about every government in the developed and developing world facilitates the continuous growth in the level of human activity and hence of human impact on the planet.

‘Growth’ is their mantra. They are unable to separate the part of growth which encompasses things like better services, environmental protection and remediation and an increasing quality of life, from the part that encompasses continuous population growth, ever-bigger demand on our resource base and ever-bigger pressure on our environment.

Governments and vested-interest business lobbies have got the deal sewn up – ever-more people, ever-more industry, ever-bigger economic turnover….with no end in sight.