The National Forum   Donate   Your Account   On Line Opinion   Forum   Blogs   Polling   About   
The Forum - On Line Opinion's article discussion area

Syndicate
RSS/XML

RSS 2.0

Main Articles General

Sign In      Register

The Forum > General Discussion > Should trial by jury in Australia be abolished ?

Should trial by jury in Australia be abolished ?

1. Pages:
  2. Page 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. All
Greetings everyone. Ever since this is my first post , i'll do a little introduction. I'm currently a student studying in Taylors College Subang Jaya in Malaysia completing the South Australian Matriculation Programme (equivalent to SA Year 12).

As following the topic of discussion , i'm currently doing a research regarding the Australian jury system and whether it is still relevant or needs to be abolished. From what i've gathered through law journals and news articles , there are its pros and cons to trial by jury .

Therefore , i'd like to gather your opinions regarding the jury system and whether it should be abolished or not.
Posted by legiteam_obstruxxion, Friday, 15 June 2007 12:06:09 AM
Find out more about this user Recommend this comment for deletion Return to top of page Return to Forum Main Page Copy comment URL to clipboard
i feel the taylor's college students should have a whip-round, and post me the collection.

the classical athenians were vastly more sophisticated about politics than modern people- they practiced it personally, often, and for keeps. they would laugh at the notion of a judge, for they were not ruled by monarchs, as we are. instead, they had professional clerks to organize trials but left decisions in the hands of citizens. in practice, large juries, voted to condemn or acquit, for A or for B in civil suits. a large jury would, they thought, replicate the view of justice held by the citizens of the state.