The National Forum   Donate   Your Account   On Line Opinion   Forum   Blogs   Polling   About   
The Forum - On Line Opinion's article discussion area

Syndicate
RSS/XML

RSS 2.0

Main Articles General

Sign In      Register

The Forum > General Discussion > Transinstitutionalisation in Australia.

Transinstitutionalisation in Australia.

1. Pages:
  2. Page 1
  3. 2
  4. All
I am currently a social work student and the focus of my research at the moment has been about the impact deinstitutionalisation has had on people suffering from a mental illness. I strongly agreed with Richard Ackland in his article in the Sydney Morning Herald last July (see http://www.smh.com.au/opinion/politics/modern-prescription-for-mental-illness-go-directly-to-jail-20110728-1i20q.html) when he acknowledged the link between deinstitutionalisation and a rise in mental health issues among incarcerated people. (Transinstitutionalisation)

At last count, mental illness ran at 3 to 4 times the rate in the prison population then the imprisoned community. Something has got to change in Australia to ensure we are giving these people the care that they need, not just locking them up for crimes which could have been prevented if adequate early community intervention was available.

Keen to hear others thoughts on this issue. Do you think transinstitutionalisation does exist? What changes do you see need to be made in Australian Mental Health policy over the next years?
Posted by Claire T, Monday, 30 April 2012 4:24:16 PM
Find out more about this user Recommend this comment for deletion Return to top of page Return to Forum Main Page Copy comment URL to clipboard
Welcome ClaireT bit surprised no one has had a look.
Maybe they thought you wanted tom talk about the mental health issues we are hearing about after detention of boat people.
I remember when institutions held thousands more than now.
Names like Calan Park and Rosevile in Sydney.
Some dreadful story's but not all bad.