The National Forum   Donate   Your Account   On Line Opinion   Forum   Blogs   Polling   About   
The Forum - On Line Opinion's article discussion area

Syndicate
RSS/XML

RSS 2.0

Main Articles General

Sign In      Register

The Forum > General Discussion > Retirement Explosin: Older People Can Do Young Things

Retirement Explosin: Older People Can Do Young Things

1. Pages:
  2. Page 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4
  6. All
Older retired Australians can do things normally considered to be the preserve of the young. I'm a retired writer and academic, and I'm now a singer/songwriter working the clubs in Sydney, taught myself keyboard, write my own songs - blues or ballads - about love, life and so on ("young" topics) and I'm having a ball and making a contribution. The need to overcome performance nerves has been a stimulant for me. Things reserved for oldies, like catching a train with a glass roof across the Canadian Rockies, are too boring.

Clem Gorman
Posted by Bridey, Friday, 22 July 2011 12:29:16 PM
Find out more about this user Visit this user's webpage Recommend this comment for deletion Return to top of page Return to Forum Main Page Copy comment URL to clipboard
Clem you are a talented exception and I would love to catch your act.

But just to play devil’s advocate, what of the un talented and non credentialed, the one who held down a job raised the kids in the suburbs and whose destiny relied on a buoyant job market, most of us in fact. I can recall a time when a manager of any kind was an older person, and when you came across a young person in that role more often than not they were a close relative of the owner. I can only suppose that generation had a glass ceiling on the young whether they were fit for the duty or not.