The National Forum   Donate   Your Account   On Line Opinion   Forum   Blogs   Polling   About   
The Forum - On Line Opinion's article discussion area

Syndicate
RSS/XML

RSS 2.0

Main Articles General

Sign In      Register

The Forum > General Discussion > Banning Trucks From CBD's

Banning Trucks From CBD's

1. Pages:
  2. Page 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4
  6. All
I don't EVER take stock in shows like TodayTonight (TT) because they either 1) are trolls. Or 2) just have no idea of the real world.

Last night though, they raised another troll point (trolls are people who make statements to INCITE reactions) about banning freight trucks in Australian CBD's because of safety. This one stood out for me because ... well ... this is what I do for a living. I move freight in Brisbane's CBD. I move bulk pallets of freight.

If I had to write a report for every near miss we have in the CBD I'd be off the road every day by about 2pm. So, they have a point. What interests me though, is that the blame is being laid solely at the feet of the truckies. But sure, there are bad apples in every basket, but not everyone is.

The weird thing about vehicle licencing in Australia - and elsewhere - is that when you get your car licence there is NO education in courtesy for other vehicles. Not legal requirements, but courtesy.

When you see a truckie going off his head at someone in a loading zone this is because generally the amount of loading zones available are dwindling and private vehicles - and cabbies - taking up these spaces takes money out of a freight worker's pocket. Many work 'per-drop'. Ipods and mobile phones are the major cause of pedestrian 'near misses' as is ignorance of basic laws, and arrogance of people who 'can park and walk anywhere'.