The National Forum   Donate   Your Account   On Line Opinion   Forum   Blogs   Polling   About   
The Forum - On Line Opinion's article discussion area

Syndicate
RSS/XML

RSS 2.0

Main Articles General

Sign In      Register

The Forum > General Discussion > Aboriginal views on media coverage.

Aboriginal views on media coverage.

1. Pages:
  2. Page 1
  3. 2
  4. All
I am a Year 12 student looking into Aboriginal portrayal in the media. I need the views of Aboriginal people, to with how they feel about their portrayal in the media.
Thanks (:
Posted by lalaamy, Thursday, 14 October 2010 9:44:42 AM
Find out more about this user Recommend this comment for deletion Return to top of page Return to Forum Main Page Copy comment URL to clipboard
I see very little media portraying indigenous people or indigenous issues in Australia.

Then again I don't take notice of many media stories.
The issues that do arise are generally voiced by non indigenous people anyway who with a careful sentence structure can deliver a biased undertone to the audience without many people noticing.

The aboriginals I see on TV are either dancing or complaining about something with a beer in their hand. Thats not to say that all aboriginals do is dance and drink. But that is what I see clips of when some reporter wants their point of view.
Posted by Nicnoto, Friday, 15 October 2010 4:06:53 PM
Find out more about this user Recommend this comment for deletion Return to top of page Return to Forum Main Page Copy comment URL to clipboard
It is sad that indig; people do not come out more, and express their concerns. I have travelled extensively across au, and found the indig; people very subdued.
Try to converse with them is near impossable.
An elder in Alice Springs seen me with a camera, and said do you want to take my photo, i said yes, he said i will de back in a mimuite. When he returned he had with him 20 of the biggest smiles you ever seen.