The National Forum   Donate   Your Account   On Line Opinion   Forum   Blogs   Polling   About   
The Forum - On Line Opinion's article discussion area

Syndicate
RSS/XML

RSS 2.0

Main Articles General

Sign In      Register

The Forum > General Discussion > Local Book Publishing

Local Book Publishing

1. Pages:
  2. Page 1
  3. 2
  4. All
As a local author I have been following the one sided debate on support for local book publishing. The majority of people have little interest in books and less in local publishing. The current debate is just a limited time media beat-up.
I am not going to predict the end of books but the sun is setting. The last book Generations X&Y read was the one they forced to read at school. They watch the visual media and why not? Games and movies are more stimulating and easier to handle.
My suggestion to authors and publishers is - move on. Write for PC games and movies as well as the inevitable crossovers. It is what the public want.
Posted by Desk Hermit, Saturday, 12 September 2009 12:33:19 PM
Find out more about this user Visit this user's webpage Recommend this comment for deletion Return to top of page Return to Forum Main Page Copy comment URL to clipboard
Dear Desk Hermit,

Please don't give up!

Children need books.

Even if television offered twenty-four hours of
uplifting, intelligent fare each day, a sound
bite on moral courage just does not penetrate.
The medium delivers information in a flash -
and then it's gone.

Stories found in books, by contrast, seep into
our very being. We all have books that lifted the
fog for us, caused the Great Aha!, and literally
changed our lives. The printed word is pondered,
and it is received only when the mind is fully
engaged. Like no other medium it has the power to
stay with us!

Look at the Harry Potter books - look at John
Marsden's books - how can you say books aren't
selling today. They are.

Great literature is not didactic, though it almost