The National Forum   Donate   Your Account   On Line Opinion   Forum   Blogs   Polling   About   
The Forum - On Line Opinion's article discussion area

Syndicate
RSS/XML

RSS 2.0

Main Articles General

Sign In      Register

The Forum > General Discussion > Queensland teachers strike again

Queensland teachers strike again

1. Pages:
  2. Page 1
  3. 2
  4. All
I will start by clarifying: I am a Queensland state school teacher. I will not be going on strike on the 5th of August - not because I don't believe that I deserve better pay, but because I don't believe that the Queensland Teacher's Union is operating fairly.

Recently, the ongoing pay dispute between the QTU and Education Queensland was referred to the Industrial Relations Commission. There is a good chance that the Commission will find in favour of Queensland teachers - the introduction of the National Partnership Agreements signifies an increased workload for teachers, and comparisons with interstate pay rates work in our favour. Why, then, does the QTU need to continue its campaign of public disruption to get its point across?

When teachers went on strike earlier this year, they enjoyed quite a high level of public support. Now, more than a month later, I think twice before telling people that I am a teacher. The union that is meant to represent us is turning us into pariahs. It is rejecting offers on our behalf without consulting us or even giving us details of the offers 'we' are rejecting. How does this help? Who does this serve?
Posted by Otokonoko, Wednesday, 29 July 2009 12:03:49 AM
Find out more about this user Recommend this comment for deletion Return to top of page Return to Forum Main Page Copy comment URL to clipboard
WTF?

When I worked for Education Queensland I worked
in small regional areas.

Many of the female staff were married to local farmers
or business owners or were business owners themselves.

Their teaching salary was used almost exclusively