The National Forum   Donate   Your Account   On Line Opinion   Forum   Blogs   Polling   About   
The Forum - On Line Opinion's article discussion area

Syndicate
RSS/XML

RSS 2.0

Main Articles General

Sign In      Register

The Forum > Article Comments > Road users on two wheels > Comments

Road users on two wheels : Comments

By Roger Kalla, published 6/1/2010

The safety of vulnerable bicycle riders is becoming a hot topic in the media as road users jostle for space.

1. Pages:
  2. Page 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4
  6. All
A good but unfortunately partisan article, Roger. That is, it's unfortunate that the issue tends to be partisan; get ready for the petrol heads, they'll be venting their collective spleen presently, blaming the cyclists rather than the attitudes of some motorists. I've been bicycling on QLD roads for many years and we remain an endangered species. Part of the problem remains, in my opinion, that the cycling fraternity down under is still a comparatively small cohort; until it grows substantially the pressure for change remains minimal. But the biggest problem, which you allude to, is that motor vehicles are much more than modes of transportation; they are marketed to reflect the personalities of their occupants. Hence, for instance we have the macho-fluro utes with their chromium accessories and manic owners who are obliged to live up to the stereotype they've bought into. Or the arrogant executive, hermetically sealed in his BMW, who doesn't deign to notice the tooling pedalist he just cut-off. Or the "Mad Bitch" in the Berina who's obliged to act like the harpy depicted under her auto's insignia.
As I've said elsewhere, we need to de-sex cars, turn them into clean, efficient, slow and nerdish modes of conveyance. Triple the price of petrol too, and force the socially challenged occupants onto their pins or a set of pedals. The time is coming!