The National Forum   Donate   Your Account   On Line Opinion   Forum   Blogs   Polling   About   
The Forum - On Line Opinion's article discussion area

Syndicate
RSS/XML

RSS 2.0

Main Articles General

Sign In      Register

The Forum > Article Comments > Children let down by rules > Comments

Children let down by rules : Comments

By Dorothy Scott, published 21/11/2007

It is not the people working in child protection who are at fault, but the policy framework in which they operate that is fatally flawed.

1. Pages:
  2. Page 1
  3. All
Throwing more money at a system which is flaw is stupid. As a former District Officer I find it hard to believe that the present system still exists.

We are asking the impossible of child protection workers in NSW. The system asks them to be both investigators and welfare workers at the same time. Taking matters to court, while working with the family to improve their welfare.

The present system needs to be dismantled. What is needed is a smaller independent investigative and policing body that works with the police. This body only role is to police and protect.

Many of the present roles of the department need to be given to other departments such as health, housing and education.

What is left over is the is the every day welfare support of children in need. This includes fostering and family support. The role of enforcing orders of the courts should be their major role.

Doc's would now be free to promote and support family education and protection role.

No court order should be allowed to be changed by the Department. All changes should be endorsed by the court. This does not happen as far as I know today. Many children are removed by court actions, only to be returned to the department shortly after. This needs investigating.

I am firmly of the belief that the only way we can bring change is to begin again. This department destroys too many, workers, children and families.