The National Forum   Donate   Your Account   On Line Opinion   Forum   Blogs   Polling   About   
The Forum - On Line Opinion's article discussion area

Syndicate
RSS/XML

RSS 2.0

Main Articles General

Sign In      Register

The Forum > Article Comments > Identifying the work place psychopath > Comments

Identifying the work place psychopath : Comments

By Malcolm King, published 26/6/2007

The organisational psychopath is a living personification of the worst aspects of organisational life: unbridled power, toadyism, guile and malice aforethought.

1. Pages:
  2. Page 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4
  6. 5
  7. All
Having worked for over 30 years as a technical manager in heavy industry I have some experience with the type of associates and superiors described. I recall three comments from one individual superior which I can still quote verbatim.
1. "....don't you think its your job to do what the MD (now CEO) wants."
and my reply, "No, its my job to do the best I can."(That of course required me to point out where I thought mistakes were being made.)
2. ".....I don't necessarily disagree with you but..." (Understand that we will continue the current course despite your arguments). If a boss cannot win the argument on solid reasoning he should change course.
3. "Christmas is an historical accident." He had no concept of a spirit of goodwill even for a few days of the year.
I understand that the nickname of the Chairman of one large compamy is "Don't Argue." This is a recipe for long term disaster as is the concept of a substantial salary margin for the CEO. All the doubters who realise that sometimes the "Emporer has no clothes" won't rock the boat as they might hurt thier chance of winning the salary lottery. A study once indicated that to avoid this problem the top four or five executives should have a salary spread of no more than about 30%. The present salaries of senior executives is obscene and unnecessary.
Foyle
Posted by Foyle, Tuesday, 26 June 2007 10:31:35 AM