The National Forum   Donate   Your Account   On Line Opinion   Forum   Blogs   Polling   About   
The Forum - On Line Opinion's article discussion area

Syndicate
RSS/XML

RSS 2.0

Main Articles General

Sign In      Register

The Forum > Article Comments > Why don't people stop to help the stricken? > Comments

Why don't people stop to help the stricken? : Comments

By Mal Fletcher, published 18/12/2015

We sometimes fall into the Complexity Trap. The sheer volume of information we process in a day leads us to conclude that life is more complicated than it sometimes is.

1. Pages:
  2. Page 1
  3. All
This is a particularly interesting, and relevant question. As the writer suggests, there are many factors involved here, not least of which is the so called 'complexity trap'. As a former nurse, I can vouch for the fact that there are times when we can be accused of overstepping the mark. What should be the normal and compassionate response to such a situation has become more complex, with the possibility of legal implications, because in the worst case scenario, intervention could inadvertently lead to the person's death.

Added to this is our present day reluctance to get involved due, at least in part, to the increasing level of terrorist activity. Many individuals have responded to this by becoming increasingly wary, and deliberately refusing to become involved in any type of public intervention.

A third objection may be that in our age of medical specialization, there are quite rigid protocols among both medical and nursing staff as to who is responsible for acting in a given situation. However, that is usually only relevant within the hospital environment, and should not apply in a situation such as this.