The National Forum   Donate   Your Account   On Line Opinion   Forum   Blogs   Polling   About   
The Forum - On Line Opinion's article discussion area

Syndicate
RSS/XML

RSS 2.0

Main Articles General

Sign In      Register

The Forum > Article Comments > Climate Policy: Is Bjorn Lomborg ‘assuming a can opener’? > Comments

Climate Policy: Is Bjorn Lomborg ‘assuming a can opener’? : Comments

By Geoff Carmody, published 5/4/2011

Bjorn Lomborg seems to assume that alternative, non-carbon emitting technologies will be cheaper than current ones - is this realistic?

1. Pages:
  2. Page 1
  3. 2
  4. All
There's no need for Geoff Carmody to be apologetic about possibly misinterpreting Bjorn Lomborg's repeated claims that more investment in R&D into green energy is the sure answer to climate change. I am a former senior manager of scientific and technological R&D and I have long been publically critical of Lomborg's unreasonably optimistic position. Carmody is absolutely right. Research is inherently uncertain. When its aim is to develop a new source of energy that has lower emissions and is cheaper than anything to date then one would have to say that the level of uncertainty is huge; 'chasing rainbows' would be a fair description. Of course, there still ought to be an appropriate level of research investment into improved energy technologies. But to base a global energy policy on the certainty of its success would be foolish in the extreme.
Posted by Tombee, Tuesday, 5 April 2011 8:18:34 AM
Find out more about this user Recommend this comment for deletion Return to top of page Return to Forum Main Page Copy comment URL to clipboard
Wow, I'm actually agreeing with Tombee. Forecasting in this area is inherently impossible, however it would seem unlikely that we would presented with a low or no emissions technology that is chepaer than fossil fuel plants.