The National Forum   Donate   Your Account   On Line Opinion   Forum   Blogs   Polling   About   
The Forum - On Line Opinion's article discussion area

Syndicate
RSS/XML

RSS 2.0

Main Articles General

Sign In      Register

The Forum > Article Comments > No wonder people try to get out of jury duty > Comments

No wonder people try to get out of jury duty : Comments

By Katy Barnett, published 10/8/2009

State governments should compensate jurors more adequately for the creditable and difficult job they undertake.

1. Pages:
  2. Page 1
  3. All
Being a self-employed sole trader I also found jury service to be both disruptive and costly to my business. However as I have only been called up once in my 59 years, I accepted my month in the jury pool as my civic duty.
During this time I served on 2 juries – one ran for 2 weeks and the other aborted after an hour!
I found the experience to be both positive and broadening, it improved my understanding of and respect for jurors and the jury system.
My only criticism is the excessive time it takes for matters to go to trial (2-3 years), I believe this undermines the veracity of the testimony of witnesses, and makes it more difficult for the jury to reach a finding beyond reasonable doubt.
Posted by Peterm, Monday, 10 August 2009 10:39:04 AM
Find out more about this user Recommend this comment for deletion Return to top of page Return to Forum Main Page Copy comment URL to clipboard