The National Forum   Donate   Your Account   On Line Opinion   Forum   Blogs   Polling   About   
The Forum - On Line Opinion's article discussion area

Syndicate
RSS/XML

RSS 2.0

Main Articles General

Sign In      Register

The Forum > Article Comments > Sisters on the move > Comments

Sisters on the move : Comments

By Stephen Hagan, published 20/7/2005

Stephen Hagan argues indigenous women are on the move.

1. Pages:
  2. Page 1
  3. All
Dear Stephen

Thank you for your timely article. Ever since you posted it I have been waiting for someone to comment. I guess they are too busy with the Muslim/Christian debate?

I can only offer praise to yourself and the Aboriginal women who you commend!

I have deep respect for Aboriginal people - regardless of academia. I love watching "Message Stick".

I have had the privilege of knowing Jack Beetson extremely well. When I was a psychiatric nursing teacher at Rozelle Hospital in Sydney in the 80s - Jack tried to get a job as a Nurses' Aid. He was knocked back! What a joke. Jack and I last saw each other in 1987. What a credible man. Which reminds me, I must get in touch with him again.

I have also had the privilege of writing a Mental Health Program for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students - and I was even more fortunate to teach the curriculum to around 25 primary health care students at a TAFE residential school. They taught me more than I ever taught them!

I think it is great that you are pushing the barrow for Aboriginal women - what strength they have. I wish more people could open their eyes and hearts to see these womens' contributions to our society. Perhaps you could get some of them [the women named in your article - and others] to write for On-Line Opiniion? That could really bring the rednecks out of the wood work as well as serve as a wonderful platform for demonstrating the accomplishments of Aboriginal women - against all the odds they have faced since this country's Anglo inception.