The National Forum   Donate   Your Account   On Line Opinion   Forum   Blogs   Polling   About   
The Forum - On Line Opinion's article discussion area

Syndicate
RSS/XML

RSS 2.0

Main Articles General

Sign In      Register

The Forum > Article Comments > Queensland needs ‘real world’ surrogacy laws > Comments

Queensland needs ‘real world’ surrogacy laws : Comments

By Suzanne Harrison, published 4/6/2007

Surrogacy remains a realistic solution to the biological and emotional yearning to be a parent.

1. Pages:
  2. 1
  3. All
I'm a 35 year old professional woman. I live in Queensland. I am law abiding, healthy and happily married to a wonderful man. We are an infertile couple and we have been together 15 years. We have been through 5 IVF cycles with no success. I'm so emotionally drained that I really don't know how many more times I can go through it. The grief gets more intense every cycle. We're just about to start again. Depending on what happens this time I think I am going to have to start re-evaluating my options. My sister and my best friend have both offered to be a surrogate for my husband and I, who incidentally produce perfect "superstar" embryos (according to our embyologist). The implantation is the challenge for us. My potential surrogates will not accept payment nor would I offer it. The laws do seem draconian to say the least. Why shouldn't I be able to contract with my potential surrogate? Why should I have to adopt my own biological child when the surrogate is merely acting as a capsule for the child. Why should I have to re-locate myself and my husband and my whole life for that matter, when all I want is to be able to bring a very much loved baby into the world with the help of my very loved sister or friend....who want to do this for me? To face going to prison for what I do not believe is criminal, given my specific circumstances, and the state of invitro fertilisation technology seems ludicrous. What will it take to unify the states and a