The National Forum   Donate   Your Account   On Line Opinion   Forum   Blogs   Polling   About   
The Forum - On Line Opinion's article discussion area

Syndicate
RSS/XML

RSS 2.0

Main Articles General

Sign In      Register

The Forum > Article Comments > HIV positive? Pay for it, says the State > Comments

HIV positive? Pay for it, says the State : Comments

By Mihir Srivastava, published 5/1/2007

India manufactures HIV drugs for the rest of the world, but a huge majority of Indian AIDS patients have no access them because of the cost.

1. Pages:
  2. 1
  3. All
Mihir, - my ties to India go back to infancy so I still feel kinship with the people of this vast continent. I was appalled by these facts. Apart from raising consciousness what can one do? Do organisations exist that need help other than in monetary terms? I am a writer and free-lance journalist. I am going to India in July/August. Can I meet with you or anyone from an AIDS agency? I am not prepared to publish personal contact details here but if you consider I can do anything to help I can authorise Graham to pass on my e.mail address.
Posted by Romany, Sunday, 7 January 2007 12:42:05 AM
Find out more about this user Recommend this comment for deletion Return to top of page Return to Forum Main Page Copy comment URL to clipboard
I've had to learn a few things caring for some people with HIV.

The disturbing thing about this disparity Romany is this is not an isolated problem to India, nor with HIV treatments.

The crux of the problem is that multinational drug companies insist on pricing their drugs not on the cost of research, not on the cost of production, not even on the cost of the chemical and certainly not on the cost of circulation or marketing.