The National Forum   Donate   Your Account   On Line Opinion   Forum   Blogs   Polling   About   
The Forum - On Line Opinion's article discussion area

Syndicate
RSS/XML

RSS 2.0

Main Articles General

Sign In      Register

The Forum > Article Comments > On the question of community: blogs and belonging > Comments

On the question of community: blogs and belonging : Comments

By Nicholas Hookway, published 8/12/2005

Nick Hookway examines 'community' in a virtual world and our declining civic, political and religious participation.

1. Pages:
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. All
I also want to explore this further. I need to know where do you blog?
Posted by Shirazi, Thursday, 8 December 2005 3:38:45 PM
Find out more about this user Visit this user's webpage Recommend this comment for deletion Return to top of page Return to Forum Main Page Copy comment URL to clipboard
Me too. I'm also doing a PhD and thinking of a section on blogs. The thing that bothers me about online communities is that like-minded people clustering is a fine source of warmth and cosiness, but it's too easy to avoid people who don't agree with you. They tend to be an intellectual form of cultural enclaves and while the comfort that offers keeps me coming back, it's an unrealistic picture of the social world.
Good luck with it. It's easy to imagine your work making an important contribution to how things go in the future.
Posted by chainsmoker, Friday, 9 December 2005 8:54:49 AM
Find out more about this user Recommend this comment for deletion Return to top of page Return to Forum Main Page Copy comment URL to clipboard
This is of high potential.
Posted by Realist, Friday, 9 December 2005 10:03:47 AM
Find out more about this user Visit this user's webpage Recommend this comment for deletion Return to top of page Return to Forum Main Page Copy comment URL to clipboard
Great article
I would have to disagree somewhat with Chainsmoker.