The National Forum   Donate   Your Account   On Line Opinion   Forum   Blogs   Polling   About   
The Forum - On Line Opinion's article discussion area

Syndicate
RSS/XML

RSS 2.0

Main Articles General

Sign In      Register

The Forum > Article Comments > Trashing Sydney's Botanic Gardens > Comments

Trashing Sydney's Botanic Gardens : Comments

By Peter West, published 9/4/2014

With good reason, former Prime Minister Paul Keating has condemned the planned changes as outrageous.

1. Pages:
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. All
Peter, I am generally against privatisation when it comes to large utilities that raise a lot of revenue. It is much less clear to me when it comes to the likes of botanic gardens.

They don’t earn much revenue. But they are a big cost to taxpayers and ratepayers. I think we can reasonably assume that they don’t pay their way, by a long way, in most cases.

I am a professional botanist. In the last three years I have had the opportunity to visit botanic gardens all over the country, from Sydney’s Royal BG and other major ones in Canberra, Perth and all our large cities, to many gardens which barely fall under the definition of a botanic garden in small country towns.

While the Sydney Royal BG is very nicely maintained, many of the smaller ones are in poor condition and are clearly starved of funds and TLC.

It seems to me that privatisation of many small ones could potentially be a good idea. But then, the revenue-raising potential of small gardens in small towns would render them unattractive to potential private concerns.