The National Forum   Donate   Your Account   On Line Opinion   Forum   Blogs   Polling   About   
The Forum - On Line Opinion's article discussion area

Syndicate
RSS/XML

RSS 2.0

Main Articles General

Sign In      Register

The Forum > General Discussion > Are the aborigines being overprotected in Australia?

Are the aborigines being overprotected in Australia?

1. Pages:
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. All
Hi. Im a student from South Australia Matriculation and am studying Legal Studies. I'm currently conducting a research based on the title "Are the aborigines being overprotected in Australia?". In Malaysia,over the past few years,our government has been doing a rather outstanding job on trying to increase the quality of lifestyle of the Malaysian aborigines,better known as ‘Orang Asli’ in the native tongue. Nevertheless,their living quality is still below the majority of the rest of the Malaysians,in aspects such as education,job prospects and many more which requires the government’s attention. While doing my research, I notice that a similar trend is observed in the state of aborigines protection in Australia. Sharan Burrow, a minister in Australia said that in this 51% of unemployment rate, Aboriginal people are still not being treated with respect. They don't have equal opportunity. They do not have a superannuation as well. Besides this,the level of Aboriginal voter participation in federal electoral politics remains low, and their ability to successfully translate political participation into the election of Aboriginal people to the House of Commons is even lower. While looking at the prospect of education, the Australian Government often fails to ensure that aborigines enjoy reasonable access to the development and delivery of their educational programs. Some aborigines state that this may have been so in the past when their parents were denied access to the schooling system in various state. As of my stand in this matter, I believe that the aborigines are no