The National Forum   Donate   Your Account   On Line Opinion   Forum   Blogs   Polling   About   
The Forum - On Line Opinion's article discussion area

Syndicate
RSS/XML

RSS 2.0

Main Articles General

Sign In      Register

The Forum > Article Comments > The economics of oofle dust > Comments

The economics of oofle dust : Comments

By Chris Shaw, published 29/5/2006

Counting up the true cost of uranium enrichment.

1. Pages:
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4
  6. All
Great article. As a chemical engineer I can appreciate that this makes Uranium hard to justify especialy if the UF6 come into the equation.
Posted by The Big Fish, Monday, 29 May 2006 12:41:52 PM
Find out more about this user Recommend this comment for deletion Return to top of page Return to Forum Main Page Copy comment URL to clipboard
I've had a tube of yellowcake (U3O8) in my shed for more than 20 years. I ain't dead yet.
Posted by Taswegian, Monday, 29 May 2006 1:05:51 PM
Find out more about this user Recommend this comment for deletion Return to top of page Return to Forum Main Page Copy comment URL to clipboard
I think this is a an article which should be widely read.
The problem is that our leaders seem to have no vision past the next election.
What do they care about the legacy that we leave for future generations?
I hope that many people will contact their elected members and remind them that the uranium is an election issue as well as an environmental issue.
Posted by Peace, Monday, 29 May 2006 1:09:56 PM
An addendum to my own post, because you can never say too much about this.

Here are some industry movies from earlier days, when they were less secretive about the messy difficulties. There is still a kind of naive optimism about the whole deal.

I don't think nuclear would have got a guernsey if it hadn't been for the perceived need to create weapons grade uranium and plutonium.