The National Forum   Donate   Your Account   On Line Opinion   Forum   Blogs   Polling   About   
The Forum - On Line Opinion's article discussion area

Syndicate
RSS/XML

RSS 2.0

Main Articles General

Sign In      Register

The Forum > Article Comments > Wispy white smoke or cold hard cash? > Comments

Wispy white smoke or cold hard cash? : Comments

By Judy Cannon, published 7/12/2017

You think I'm one of those anti-smoking nuts? Well, yes and no. I'm a journalist who once smoked 80 cigarettes a day.

1. Pages:
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. All
Dear J, my mother loved to smoke and luxuriated in it, even as she chewed chocolate and all other luxuries with each mouthful of eventually inhaled smoke.

She spent the last ten years of her life gasping, coughing and spitting sputum. And connected to a permanent oxygen line, that allowed her sufficient length to get from the bedroom to the toilet, bathroom and meal table.

I know because I was there 24/7 doing for her as and unpaid and disabled myself, carer. Not that I minded, given our history!

As for emphysema? I heard that at least one South Australian Surgeon seems to have had some success just cutting out the rotten bits of the rotting from within lungs. And with the bad bits removed, the rot stops spreading?

And formerly incurable cancers may benefit from Bismuth 213 therapy?

Largely unavailable here, because some green advocates and various politicians, will die in a ditch before we have a fair dinkum nuclear industry! AND SAFER, CLEANER AND CHEAPER THAN COAL! THAT'S SAFER, CLEANER, CHEAPER!

[Maybe a few high profile pollies have to get cancer first? And given the number of cigar smokers in those ranks, not too long perhaps?]

Even as a nuclear armed China becomes more assertive by the day as she helps herself to slices of other folk's former sovereign territory!

Who's next? Some sparsely populated country with muchco plenty mineral wealth?